International Accreditation

The Clay Fire Territory has achieved “Internationally Accredited Agency” status with the Commission on Fire Accreditation International (CFAI) for a 4th consecutive time in 2019. In order to receive accreditation, Clay Fire was required to meet rigorous standards and all criteria established through CFAI’s self-assessment and accreditation program.

CFAI Process

The CFAI process provides agencies with an improvement model to assess their service delivery and performance internally. The agency then works with a team of peers from other emergency organizations to evaluate their completed self-assessment. CFAI is dedicated to assisting fire and emergency service agencies throughout the world in achieving excellence through accreditation in order to provide continuous quality improvement and the enhancement of service delivery to their communities.   


& Requirements

In 2004, the Clay Fire Territory was the 1st agency in Indiana to achieve “Internationally Accredited Agency” status by CFAI. Clay Fire was 1 of the 1st 100 agencies to have been accredited, and remains to be 1 of 250 agencies to be accredited by the CFAI and the Center for Public Safety Excellence (CPSE). As of 2019, there has only been 42 other department to be accredited four (4) times.  Internationally accredited agencies must:
  • Continually review and update their deployment and response systems
  • Demonstrate a commitment to continual improvement
  • Submit annual compliance reports

Public Statements

According to Fire Chief Timm Schabbel, “The Clay Fire Territory’s achievement of continued accredited agency status demonstrates the commitment of the organization to provide the highest quality of service to our community.” Chief Schabbel also said, “We have been able to use the CFAI process as a proactive mechanism to plan for the future of this agency and locate areas where we can improve on the quality of the services we provide.”

Accredited Status

Clay Fire remains 1 of only 3 fire departments in Indiana that have achieved accredited status. The Carmel Fire Departments and Grissom Air Reserve Base have also achieved this prestigious designation.

More Information

For more information about the fire department accreditation process, including additional details about the CFAI, please visit the CPSE website.

Press Release

Clay Fire - CFAI Accreditation Media Release (8.19.19)